How to disable My Site functionality?

By Namwar Rizvi - Last updated: Wednesday, August 27, 2008 - Save & Share - Leave a Comment

If you want to disable My Site or My Links functionality, here are the steps to follow:

  1. Open Central Administration site
  2. Under Shared Services Administration click your Shared Services Provider (SSP) which is running your  My Site functionality
  3. Under User Profiles and My Sites, click Personalization  Services Permissions
  4. Here you can assign different permission set for different users and groups for Personalization functionality.  For example
    1. To disable My Site functionality for all users click NT Authority\Authenticated Users group and uncheck Create personal site
    2. To disable My Links uncheck User personal features
  5. Click Save
  6. Repeat above steps to individually manage Personalization for different users and groups
Share
Posted in Management • Tags: , Top Of Page

Write a comment